Description

Justin Lee Anderson's sensational epic fantasy debut was voted best self-published fantasy book of the year* and begins a tale of magic, mayhem, and a ragtag group of adventurers who just might be the key to saving their kingdom.

"Rich in action and intrigue, this fantasy adventure is sure to please fans of David Gemmell." – Anthony Ryan 


The war is over, but peace can be hell.

Demons continue to burn farmlands, violent mercenaries roam the wilds, and a plague is spreading. The country of Eidyn is on its knees. 

In a society that fears and shuns him, Aranok is the first mage to be named King's Envoy. And his latest task is to restore an exiled foreign queen to her throne.  

The band of allies he assembles each have their own unique skills. But they are strangers to one another, and at every step across the ravaged land, a new threat emerges, lies are revealed, and distrust could destroy everything they are working for. Somehow, Aranok must bring his companions together and uncover the conspiracy that threatens the kingdom—before war returns to the realms again.

"Excellent – full of great characters, tense action scenes and truly surprising twists. A highly recommended read." – James Islington

"Exquisite." – Gareth Hanrahan

"Strikingly intense . . . . Immersive and thoroughly compelling." – SFX

For more from Justin Lee Anderson, check out:

The Eidyn Saga
The Lost War
The Bitter Crown



*Self-Published Fantasy Blog Off

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Praise

“The uncertainties of a traumatized society provide the thematic underpinning for The Lost War by Justin Lee Anderson. An eclectic cast of characters traverse a war-ravaged kingdom as Anderson's cleverly constructed plot winds its way towards a truly unexpected denouement. Rich in action and intrigue, this fantasy adventure with a Scottish flavor is sure to please fans of David Gemmell.”

Anthony Ryan, New York Times bestselling author

“Excellent - full of great characters, tense action scenes and truly surprising twists. A highly recommended read.”

James Islington, author of The Shadow of What was Lost

"Justin’s book reads like you’ve been dropped in the middle of a classic fantasy adventure, full of familiar elements twisted to be terrifying again - and then ramps up the tension to distract you from the sucker punch he’s been planning all along. Exquisite."

Gareth Hanrahan, author of The Sword Defiant
"Enjoyable and high-energy."—Kirkus
"The Lost War is full of exciting action, but the interpersonal relationships of the party are even more compelling. This tightly plotted magical odyssey, which was originally self-published, will be a hit with fans of grimdark fantasy like Joe Abercrombie’s Half a War or Nicholas Eames’ Kings of the Wyld"—Booklist
"The classic adventure tale is made all the more enjoyable by the baffling mystery that simmers beneath the surface, and the stunning climax throws a wrench in all preconceived notions and stretches the bounds of imagination ... This exciting novel manifests as fierce and fresh epic fantasy with DnD undertones. Perfect for fans of Anthony Ryan."—Library Journal

“A fantastic read. A twist which is just magnificent. It’s an exceptional book and I can’t recommend it enough.”

Steve McHugh, author of The Last Raven
"[A] gripping epic ... Anderson’s talent at crafting memorable characters will whet appetites for the sequel. Raymond Feist fans will be especially enthralled."—Publishers Weekly
“Strikingly intense … immersive and thoroughly compelling.”—SFX
“Compelling and entertaining … inventive and fun.”—SciFiNow
"A blistering tale packed with action and adventure."—Evening News
Read More Read Less