The Midwife of Auschwitz

Regular Price $17.99

Regular Price $18.99 CAD

Regular Price $17.99

Regular Price $18.99 CAD

Also Available From:

Buy Now:

On Sale

Feb 27, 2024

Page Count

368 Pages

Publisher

ISBN-13

9781538767825

Description

Inspired by a heartbreaking true story, this poignant novel tells of one woman’s brave fight for love, life, and hope during a time of unimaginable darkness in WWII Germany, perfect for readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz.

Auschwitz, 1943: As I held the tiny baby in my arms, my fingers traced the black tattoo etched across her little thigh. And I prayed that one day this set of numbers, identical to her mother’s, would have the power to reunite a family torn apart by war…

Ana Kaminski is pushed through the iron gates of Auschwitz beside her frightened young friend Ester Pasternak. As they reach the front of the line, Ana steps forward and quietly declares herself a midwife—and Ester her assistant. Their arms are tattooed, and they’re ordered to the maternity hut. Holding an innocent newborn baby, Ana knows the fate of so many are in her hands, and vows to do everything she can to save them.

When two guards in their chilling SS uniforms march in and snatch a blond-haired baby from its mother, it’s almost too much for Ana to bear. Consoling the distraught woman, Ana realizes amidst the terrible heartache there is a glimmer of hope. The guards are taking the healthiest babies and placing them with German families, so they will survive. And there are whispers the war is nearly over… Ana and Ester begin to secretly tattoo little ones with their mother’s numbers, praying one day they might be reunited.

Then, early one morning, Ana notices the small bump under Ester’s thin, striped clothing…

What's Inside

Read More Read Less